Record Number of Employees Win President's Awards for Excellence

The 2002 winners of the President's Awards for Excellence have been announced and the results show a record number of employees have been selected as recipients this year. In addition to individual winners who have made outstanding contributions, an unprecedented number of teams have been honored for significant accomplishments that required a true group effort.

"All of this year's winners have made great strides in helping CN to get to the next level," said Paul Tellier, President and CEO. "I am proud to see that they represent a real cross-section of functions and areas. And the group awards show the power of teamwork."

The Awards will be presented by Mr. Tellier at a gala to be held in Montreal on October 18.

Following are the winners:


Hugh Beechy, Tom Bozyk, Sandra Hamm, Tom Hosfield, Gerald Koopman, Don Marquis, Rick Small, Greg Smerchynski, Ron B. Smith, Cynthia Stotz

Using as many different and imaginative means as possible, this group shows continuing dedication to Operation Lifesaver - a rail industry program to raise public awareness of the dangers of highway/railway crossings and trespassing on railway property.