Canadian Transportation Awards winners announced

Transport Minister Jean-C. Lapierre, along with David J. Johnstone, president of the Transportation Association of Canada, today announced the winners of the 2005 Canadian Transportation Awards. The awards program recognizes leadership, excellence and achievement in all modes and segments of the transportation sector.

"I would like to congratulate this year's winners and thank them for their dedication to improving the safety, security, sustainability and efficiency of Canadian transportation," said Mr. Lapierre. "These awards recognize the outstanding contribution millions of Canadians make to this sector each and every day."

"The Transportation Association of Canada is proud to recognize the achievements of today's pioneers and leaders in the transportation industry," said Mr. Johnstone. "This awards program supports our mission of promoting safe, efficient, effective and environmentally and financially sustainable transportation services in support of Canada's social and economic goals."

The winner's included Mr. Dan Di Tota, the national director of Operation Lifesaver, a national public education program sponsored by the Railway Association of Canada and Transport Canada, received this award for his work on this national program. Its goal is to reduce the needless loss of life, injuries and damages caused by collisions at highway/railway crossings and train/pedestrian incidents. His leadership on this initiative, includes the development of a mobile classroom which travels around the country; training packages for emergency responders, school bus drivers and professional truck drivers; and a community trespass prevention guide.

Launched by the Transportation Association of Canada and supported by Transport Canada, this awards program is a continuation of the National Transportation Week awards program, which concluded last year.

The awards were presented at the closing banquet of the Transportation Association of Canada's annual conference meeting in Calgary, which was held from September 18 to 21, 2005.